Stuffed Bell Peppers

 

stuffed peppers16I absolutely love this dish and think it tastes better every time I make it.  Maybe it’s just because I only make it once a month or so, thus when I do I’m ravenous for it!

I used to not boil the peppers in advance, as I like the crunch – but my family doesn’t.  I also used to use premix for Spanish rice for the filler, but found I like my own rice creation much better.  I also have adapted a tip I saw on Rachel Ray one time which is just so awesome, where you trim the base of the peppers so they stand on their own.  Stuffed bell peppers while having a main staple of ingredients, everyone seems to have their own recipe and method.

This is mine.

Ingredients

4 green bell peppers, large sized

1 cup uncooked rice

2 – 3 Roma tomatoes

8 ounces cheddar cheese, shredded

1 pound ground beef

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1 bunch cilantro

Directions

  • Cut the tops of the peppers off, save the tops.  Use fingers or blunt case knife to remove inner seeds and the skin flaps.
  • Cut base of peppers to an even flatness to allow them to stand on their own.
  • Place peppers into a large stock pot and fill each with water and add enough water to cover the tops of the peppers.
  • Bring pot to boil and allow to boil for ten minutes.
  • In a medium heavy pot, add uncooked rice and 2 cups of water.
  • Over medium heat bring to boil, once boiling, cover and reduce to low heat.
  • In a skillet over medium heat, brown ground beef.
  • Finely mince tomatoes, cilantro and bell pepper tops – excluding stems.
  • Add tomato mixture and cumin to cooked rice.  Stir rice into skillet with ground beef and stir well.
  • Drain peppers and arrange in a oven safe baking dish.
  • Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.
  • Place a spoonful of shredded cheese into base of each pepper.
  • Fill pepper with meat/rice mixture.
  • Top with cheese.
  • Cook uncovered in oven for twenty minutes.
  • Serve.

stuffed peppers2stuffed peppers3stuffed peppers9stuffed peppers11stuffed peppers14

One Comment to “Stuffed Bell Peppers”

  1. Damn that looks good!

Leave a comment