Elotero

I lived in the western suburbs of Chicago and one of our first trips into the city I got introduced to so many scents and sounds that I miss still.  I don’t think anything compares to fall in Chicago.  It was a few weeks before Halloween, we hopped a train into the city and rode the L from one end to the other, avoiding the tourist stops like Sears’ Tower and instead finding little holes in the wall on parts of Michigan Avenue that aren’t in any travel guide.

On that first trip I crinkled my nose as my companion insisted I try an aluminium foil wrapped treat off of a vendor’s two wheeled cart.  It sounded nauseating.  Mayonnaise on corn on the cob?  Yuck.  But I actually enjoyed it and it is one of those rare little treats that has never tasted as good anywhere else.  But this is as close as my gringo self has been able to replicate it.

Ingredients

1 ear of corn, husk still on

1 Tablespoon mayonnaise – not salad dressing or Miracle Whip crap

1 teaspoon Parmesan cheese

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 Lime

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  • Pull back the husks of the corn, being careful not to remove them.  Tear out corn silk and wash corn and husks thoroughly.
  • Shake dry.
  • Cut lime and squeeze one half over the length of the corn cob.
  • Smear mayonnaise over all exposed corn kernels.
  • Blend Parmesan and cayenne together and cover corn.
  • Bring husks up to cover kernels.
  • Lay on a sheet of aluminium foil.
  • Squeeze other lime half over husks and then close foil around corn cob.
  • Bake at 350 degrees F for 25 minutes.
  • Remove foil and husks and serve hot.

Leave a comment