Salade Niçoise

Another of my ventures in light and healthy salad meals, I found a recipe in one of my Julia Child cook books (Kitchen Wisdom, for those who wish to look it up) and made my own little modifications based on my family’s preferences , including the exclusion of anchovies, eggs, olives, shallots and capers.

This end result was a unique and tasty creation.

The actual preparation time is next to nothing and the arrangement of flavours really makes this a tasty dish.  And filling too, which is my husband’s chief complaint when I make salad dishes as the main course.

Ingredients

4 – 5 cups chopped Romaine, washed and drained well (the recipe calls for Boston lettuce, but our market only had two small heads when I went shopping so I used Romaine instead and it worked well)

1 pound fresh green beans, washed and snapped to bite sized pieces

4 small boiling potatoes

2 Roma tomatoes, tri-cut into wedges

1 red onion, sliced into 1/4″ thick rings, then broken into bite sized pieces

2 cans of chunk tuna in water, rinsed and drained

2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard

Juice of one good sized lemon

Directions

  • Steam potatoes for ten minutes.
  • Add green beans, and steam them with potatoes for an additional five minutes.
  • Rinse to cool (I added ice cubes to hasten this process).
  • Chop potatoes into bite sizes.
  • Blend oil, mustard and lemon juice well.
  • Turn all ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Toss with oil mixture.
  • Serve chilled.

Leave a Reply

