Strawberry & Cream Cheese Cookies

Cream cheese and strawberries – I think that this is likely as close to heaven as we can hope to get here on earth.  And combining them in a cookie is just yum. This is a Tia creation that really turned out so well I had to share.  I was watching a cooking show the other night and the chef was making a cinnamon cream cheese dough for cookies and my mouth started drooling as I thought of all the things I could do with that.  I tried to blend strawberries in with the dough, but it didn’t firm up well in baking like I had hoped.  So using the thumbprint method, I filled the cream cheese cookies.  I also avoided adding in any spices to the dough because I think the cream cheese is plenty flavourful enough to not need any help when it arrives to the taste buds.

I used preserves because, well, in my house we don’t like jelly and jam as well.  In case you don’t know the difference:

  • jelly is a fruit spread that usually just has juiced fruit, pureed beyond belief
  • jam is a fruit spread that typically still has some recognizable fruit bits, but it is usually not much more than a pulp
  • preserves are a fruit spread that has large chunks of fruit, broken up only slightly.

I wanted to try raspberry, but not everyone in my home is as crazy about raspberries as I am, but strawberries – well who doesn’t love strawberries?

Ingredients

8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature *

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup powdered sugar

2 cups flour, sifted

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup strawberry preserves

* not whipped, but the block style

Directions

  • Cream butter and cream cheese together until well blended.
  • Fold in sugar and flour, one cup at a time until smooth.
  • Add in baking soda and vanilla, blend well.
  • Pack into plastic wrap or waxed paper and chill for thirty minutes in the fridge.
  • Roll one spoonful into a ball shape and place onto a well greased cookie sheet or a cookie sheet lined with paper.
  • Gently create a well in the top of the cookie with your finger.
  • Pack preserves into a plastic baggy, kneading for a minute to break up larger chunks of fruit.
  • Snip the end of the baggy and pipe into the hole of each cookie, allowing it to create a peak.
  • Bake for ten minute or until golden brown.
  • Finished cookies will have the texture of a drop style biscuit.
  • Store in an airtight container until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

