Fried Hot Wings

I’m not big on spicy foods, but I love the zing of a spicy bite of chicken with the cooling taste of ranch dressing.  And my family can tear through some hot wings, let me tell you.  When I make hot wings, I double fry them, first for the light crunch and then I fry them again to hold the spicy sauce tight to the skin.  When you use this method, you want to get all of your flour coated chicken wings fried before you begin fryin the barbeque sauce coated wings.  Each wing should cook in the oil for between 1 – 2 minutes, depending on the size of the wings.

I make my own barbeque sauce, linked below, which I like because it is sweet but tangy and not overly spicy.  You can certainly heat it up by increasing the cayenne pepper or adding a dash of Tabasco or hot sauce to the mixture.

Ingredients

2 pounds of chicken wings

1 batch of barbeque sauce

1 – 2 cup flour for breading

2 – 4 cups vegetable oil for frying

Directions

  • Heat frying oil in a medium saucepan.  (I don’t use a thermometer, I do it the way I was taught which is to toss in a piece of breadcrumb and see if it rolls in the oil.  When it rolls, it is ready.)
  • Lightly dust the chicken wings in flour, making certain to coat well and then drop them into the oil to fry.
  • Fry until the chicken is a very light golden tan colour, 30 seconds to one minute.
  • Remove from oil and place on a rack or paper towel briefly to drain the excess oil.
  • Coat thoroughly with barbeque sauce and lower into the oil once more until crisped, 30 seconds to a minute.
  • Remove and allow to drain before serving.

2 Comments to “Fried Hot Wings”

  1. I saw your post looking for a recipe for wing sauce. I own http://hotsauceplanet.com/ and sell all sorts of wing sauces. If you want to link to our wing sauces for your recipe that would be great. I would also be willing to give your readers a 15% off coupon for wing sauces if they are interested.

    You can find our wing sauces here:

    http://www.hotsauceplanet.com/hot-chicken-and-buffalo-wing-sauces-s/86.htm

    Let me know,

    Jason
    jason@unitebrands.com

Leave a Reply

