Mash

A couple years ago for Saint Patty’s Day my daughter wanted me to go all out, a full authentic Irish meal.  So, since I don’t typically cook meals from places that far north, I had to go digging for recipes.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy eating everything from corned beef to Sheppard’s pie but most everything I knew of was a variant on cabbage or potatoes.  In doing so, I opened my mind to some ideas that have uncreative names and sound rather bland.  And truth be told, they aren’t the type of meals you want to make because they display nicely.  But hearty and filling they are, these are the meals my grandma had in mind when she used to say I should eat up so it would stick to my ribs.

This particular recipe is basically mashed potatoes with a sweet side.  I’ve played with this a few ways and have yet to find a way to make it visually more appealing.  The apples get a brownish colour and adding the old standby of lemon juice alters the flavour too greatly.  Anyone able to find a work around, please feel free to let me know.

And before we start, the age old question is which apple is best?  I prefer Fuji or Delicious for cooking as these tend to retain a lot of the flavour.  If you like a bit of a bite with your apples, go with Granny Smith apples.  A lot of people swear by Macintosh, but I find when I cook with them they seem to lose a lot of flavour.  Ultimately, it comes down to personal choice, just remember that the apple that tastes great raw may not taste the same at all when cooked.

Ingredients

3 – 4 good sized apples, peeled, cored and chopped

2 pounds potatoes, peeled and quartered

4 Tablespoons butter

1 Tablespoon granulated sugar

1 teaspoon iodized salt

2 Tablespoons water

  • In a large pot over medium heat, place potatoes and salt in and cover with water.  Bring to a boil and cook until tender.
  • In a separate pot over low to medium heat, cook chopped apples with 2 Tablespoons of water and sugar.  Stir constantly until tender.
  • Drain potatoes and place in a mixing bowl, beating on slow speed with electric beater, or using a handheld potato masher.
  • Add in soft cooked apples and butter, mash thoroughly to blend.
  • Serve warm.
Leave a Reply

