Homemade Pasta

About the only thing I actually use this recipe for is when I make tortellini.  I would love to make my own pasta but I do not have the equipment.  When I was kid this was something I got to help with though and it is so fun.  If you plan to make your own pasta you are going to need a pasta machine and a drying rack.  My dad had made one that we used to use.  You feed your pasta dough through a machine that clamps down onto the table and has various attachments much like the old play-doh tools when you were a kid.  Most machines have your standard spaghetti head, lasagne, fettuccine, whatever, and you feed the dough through and as you crank it rolls out the thickness and strands.  I went looking to find a picture to show how they work and was rather surprised to see there are electric ones now – I guess I shouldn’t be surprised.  But still.  I don’t know how well they work so I won’t attest to them at all. After making the pasta if you aren’t using it immediately you would hang it over racks to dry, which takes about 24-48 hours.

When I make tortellini, I use this basic pasta recipe and whip out the rolling pin that I hate so much.  I am not much for doughs and rolling, but you just can’t beat the flavour of homemade tortellini compared to store bought.  I can live with store bought pastas, but not filled pastas.

You’ll notice I use regular flour and semolina flour.  If you cannot find the semolina flour even in the ethnic area of your grocery store, you can substitute rice flour or just the regular flour.  Do not use cream of wheat as a substitute, you will be sorely disappointed if you do.

You will want a large clean surface for the rolling part, I typically use my kitchen table rather than a counter top or cutting board where I always seem to run out of room.  You will want to have the swath of your arms for your space, so extend your arms straight out in front of you – your work area should fit inside that area and extend outside of it by a few inches.

Ingredients

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup semolina flour

3 eggs

1 Tablespoon virgin olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

  • Using a sifter or a screen style grated strainer, sift together the flours and salt into a large mixing bowl.
  • On your clean and dry surface, drop one handful of all purpose flour and scatter it about widely, patting it out to a dusting thickness.
  • Dump flour mixture from bowl onto your surface and create a mountain.  Using two fingers, create a well in the top.  My dad used to always tell me to make a volcano for the lava.
  • Crack your eggs into the well and add the olive oil.
  • Use a fork to lightly beat the eggs, blending them with the oil.  Allow a bit of the flour to work its way in.
  • As it thickens, begin to use your hands to fold in the flour, pulling from the outside of the mountain in.
  • Knead the dough for at least ten minutes, turning it over and working it smooth.
  • You can pull in the surface flour to recover the dough and working area to keep it from sticking.
  • After kneading, place the dough back into your mixing bowl and cover with saran wrap.
  • Let the dough sit for about thirty minutes at room temperature.
  • Roll the dough on your floured surface using a rolling pin or feed through your pasta machine if you have one.

pastadough1pastadough2

Leave a Reply

