Eggs Benedict

I don’t often do a lot of breakfast dishes because quite frankly, at that hour, my brain only thinks of coffee.  But once in a blue moon I get around to whipping up random dishes and this is one my mom used to make often when I was younger.  I loved it because it was about the only time we would have English muffins, but I always hated the hollandaise sauce.  She would put it on everything from eggs Benedict to asparagus to pork chops and to this day, I just am not a fan of hollandaise sauce, so my recipe does not include it but rather a creamy cheese sauce made with cheddar jack instead.

The length of time you boil the eggs really depends on the preference of soft yolks or hard.  If you have a poacher, you can easily determine the yolk’s stage, if you use my method below, note that 3 to 5 minutes gives you a soft yolk, over 5 minutes gives you a harder yolk.

I have made this recipe per serving size, allowing 2 eggs per person, but note that my cheese sauce recipe is for 4 servings total.


CIMG3087Ingredients

2 eggs

2 slices ham, 1/4 inch thickness or better

1 English muffin, halved

1/4 cup Cheese sauce

  • Over high heat, bring a pot full of water to a rolling boil.
  • Crack eggs and drop in, one at a time, no more than 2 eggs boiling at once.
  • Heat ham in a skillet over medium heat.
  • Lightly toast English muffin halves.
  • Lay ham over English muffin half.
  • Gingerly scoop egg out of water, straining water before laying over top of meat.
  • Spoon cheese sauce over top.
  • Serve warm.

CIMG3086

Leave a Reply

