Dutch Honey Syrup

I feel almost guilty at posting this but I know now with the glorious invention called the internet that my grandmother didn’t invent this recipe.

When I was a kid, this was our family recipe that was guarded heavily and handed down only to family members and the most trusted of friends.  The story was that my grandmother had made this concoction from left-overs and it was an immediate hit.  When my uncle married a young woman and she was brazen enough to post the recipe for her house guests to see, my grandmother lost her temper!

This is still my favourite syrup and is perfect for the non-maple fans of the world.

Ingredients

1 bottle Karo light corn syrup

1 cup sugar

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 tablespoon vanilla extract (not flavouring)

  • Bring all ingredients to boil in a heavy saucepan over low to medium heat, stirring often.
  • Once mixture becomes an even golden colour and loses its milky appearance, remove from heat.

This can be stored in an airtight container for several months if refrigerated.  I used to keep it in the glass Karo bottles, however they have switched to plastic.  If you have a glass bottle with plastic lid that you get to make packet salad dressings, this will work well.

Leave a Reply

